FEDERATION OF CANADIAN ARTISTS 2011 Annual General Meeting

Held April 17, 2011 at the Federation Gallery 1241 Cartwright Street, Vancouver, B.C.

Number of members present, including the Board: 15.

Board Members Present

President - Andrew McDermott SFCA

1st Vice-President & Public Relations Chair - Alfonso Tejada

2nd Vice-President – Don Hodgins AFCA

Secretary – Elaine Chatwin

Education Chair - Angela Au Hemphill SFCA

Member at Large/Chapter Liaison – Marney-Rose Edge AFCA

Membership Chair – Michael King

Board Members absent

Past-President – Tatjana Mikov-Popovicki SFCA; Treasurer – Sandy Kay AFCA;

Standards Chair – Gaye Adams SFCA

Staff Members present - Executive Director - Bev Rushworth

CALL THE MEETING TO ORDER

The publishing of the scheduled AGM in the March/April Art Avenue magazine and on the FCA website constituted proper notice to the membership. A quorum being present, the Chair, Alfonso Tejada, called the meeting to order at 3:10 P.M.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

MOTION: Moved by Bob McMurray to approve the agenda. CARRIED

WELCOME TO MEMBERS AND INTRODUCTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS by Executive Director Bev Rushworth.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING DATED APRIL 18, 2010.

MOTION: Moved by Bob McMurray, to adopt the minutes as circulated. CARRIED

SPECIAL RESOLUTIONS

No Special Resolutions.

REPORTS

1. President's Report – Andrew McDermott - Report Attached The President's comments were read by Alfonso Tejada.

2. Executive Director's Report – Bev Rushworth

The Executive Director gave a report highlighting the events that have taken place in the gallery through the year. Bev announced that a new Communications Coordinator has

been hired, beginning her duties next week. The next 12 months will continue to focus on giving priority to the members, welcoming and assisting them to participate fully in all that the FCA has to offer. The FCA Gallery experienced many successful shows and painting sales. The education program ran a full lineup of classes and workshops.

3. Membership Report – Michael King – Report Attached

The most significant accomplishment in 2010/11 was the development and implementation of online show submissions. Development costs have already been recovered with increased entries using this system. Over the next year tutorial videos on using the online system will be prepared and added to the FCA website.

4. Chapter Liaison Report – Marney-Rose Edge – Report Attached Marney-Rose Edge will travel to Dawson Creek in May to attend the opening reception of the new Peace River Chapter show.

APPROVAL OF THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2010.

Bob McMurray gave a brief synopsis of the audited report received from the Auditor, Catherine Der CA.

MOTION: by Alfonso Tejada; SECOND by Bob McMurray to adopt the financial statements as reported. CARRIED

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Bev Rushworth, Executive Director, presented the slate of nominees for the positions of executive officers on the FCA Board, which had been circulated with the March/April issue of the Art Avenue magazine with mail-in ballots provided.

Nominations for executive office positions for 2011-12

President - Andrew McDermott SFCA

1st Vice President - Alfonso Tejada Active

2nd Vice President - Marney-Rose Edge AFCA

Treasurer - Don Hodgins AFCA

Secretary - Elaine Chatwin Active

Bev reported a tally of 32 (positive) mail-in ballots had been received for the proposed slate.

MOTION: Bev Rushworth moved that nominations cease. CARRIED

Bev Rushworth asked for a vote by show of hands to accept the slate of nominees. By a unanimous vote in favour, the proposed slate was declared elected executive officers to the Board of Directors for the year 2011-12.

MEMBER RECOGNITION AWARDS – Bob McMurray

On behalf of the Awards committee, Bob McMurray gave an explanation of the steps taken on how the recipients of these awards are selected. The selections recommended by the committee and approved by the Board for this year are as follows:

<u>Lifetime Achievement Award</u>: Tin Yan Chan SFCA

Early Achievement Award: Andrew McDermott SFCA

Honourary Life Member Award: Don Farrell SFCA

Outstanding Volunteer for the FCA: Faye Takeuchi

Outstanding Chapter Volunteer Award:

Thompson Nicola Shuswap Chapter: Trish Armstrong-Gibson AFCA North Okanagan Chapter: Gail Short, Charlene Woodbury AFCA

Calgary Chapter: Rosemary Bennett West Kootenay Chapter: Sandra Donahue

Arrowsmith Chapter: Dave Davies

NEW BUSINESS

1. Letter received regarding a request to consider an amendment to the Bylaws under Membership 1.7. The Board will address this request in consultation with the Standards Committee. TABLED to next Board meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss the meeting was adjourned at 4:30PM. CARRIED by consensus.

Minutes recorded and transcribed by Elaine Chatwin, FCA Board Secretary.

Signed:		
Date:		