FEDERATION OF CANADIAN ARTISTS

2015 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Held May 19, 2015 at the Federation Gallery, 1241 Cartwright Street, Vancouver, B.C.

Number of members present including the Board: 19

Board Members Present

Officers:

Andrew McDermott, President Neil Hamelin, 2nd Vice President Peter Kiidumae, Secretary Susie Cipolla, Treasurer

Directors:

Lennart Osterlind, Fundraising Chair Charlie Easton, Education Chair Dene Croft, Member at Large Teressa Bernard, Standards Chair Angela Au Hempel, Member at Large Bill Higginson, Membership Chair

Board Members Absent

Officers:

Kathy Hildebrandt, 1st Vice President Tatjana Mirkov-Popovicki, Past President

Directors:

Alfonso Tejada

Staff Present

Patrick Meyer, Exec. Director

- 1. **CALL TO ORDER & ESTABLISH A QUORUM** The publishing of the scheduled AGM in the January/February issue of Art Avenue and on the FCA website constituted proper notice to the membership. With a quorum present Andrew McDermott presided over the meeting that commenced at 6:00 pm.
- 2. **APPROVAL OF AGENDA** MOTION by Andrew McDermott, seconded by Susie Cipolla to approve the agenda. CARRIED

3. APPROVAL OF MARCH 25, 2014 MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

MOTION by Andy McDermott, seconded by Charlie Easton to adopt the minutes as circulated. CARRIED.

4. **PRESIDENT'S REPORT**

This being Andy's final year as President, he spoke about his long service as President and expressed his thanks and appreciation to the volunteers, staff and members of the Board for their efforts and contributions.

5. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

A detailed written report was submitted.

Patrick reported that the financial bleeding had almost stopped and he was working towards moving the organization more in the direction of a professional association. He was aiming for greater transparency, improvement of response times to calls and emails, and increasing our geographical reach through such services as the online gallery and online critiques. Office procedures are being overhauled. Patrick advised that our membership had grown by 17% over the previous 16 months, increasing from 1,712 in Dec 2013 to 2,002 by April 2015.

6. FINANCIAL REPORT

The financial statements were reviewed by Susie Cipolla showing a significant improvement in our 2014 loss of \$11,000 compared to the loss of \$41,000 the previous year. Susie suggested we could be out of the negative financial results by the end of the coming year.

7. STANDARDS REPORT

Written report submitted. Teressa expressed appreciation for the smooth transition with all new staff members.

8. EDUCATION COMMITTEE REPORT

Charlie Easton summarized our education program as facing enrollment challenges resulting in lower revenues but this had been offset by lower costs.

9. **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

Patrick Meyer presented the slate of nominees for the positions of executive officers on the FCA Board, which had been circulated in the January/February issue of Art Avenue magazine with mail-in ballots being provided.

Nominations for executive officer positions for 2013-14

President; Dene Croft, SFCA

1st Vice President: Kathy Hildebrandt 2nd Vice President: Neil Hamelin, AFCA

Treasurer: Susie Cipolla, AFCA Secretary: Peter Kiidumae

MOTION: Andy McDermott moved that nominations be closed. CARRIED. The proposed slate was declared elected by acclamation as executive officers of the Board of Directors for the year 2015-16.

15. OTHER REPORTS AND QUESTIONS FROM THE FLOOR

Kiff Holland raised the issue of our education workshops not being competitive costwise with competing alternate programs. Charlie Easton acknowledged this situation and said we were studying how we could best meet this challenge.

16. **MEMBER RECOGNITION AWARDS**

On behalf of the Member Recognition Committee, Bob McMurray announced the following award winners for the year:

Distinctive Artistic Achievement Award: Brent Lynch, SFCA Early Achievement Award: Edgardo Landin, SFCA

Outstanding Volunteer: Ted Fraser

CHAPTER SERVICE AWARDS

Central Okanagan: **Barb Harrington** West Kootenay: **Wilma Hughes**

Nanaimo: **Helen Webster Harold Allanson Kathryn Galvin**

Calgary: Janie Lockwood

North Okanagan: **Martha Moore**

There being no further business to discuss, Andy moved to adjourn the m	eeting at
6:30 pm . CARRIED.	
Minutes recorded and transcribed by Peter Kiidumae, Secretary.	

Signed: Date:		
Signed: Date:	C: am a d.	Data.
	Signed:	Date: