Federation Gallery

Award Winners

2019 Award Winners

View 2018 Award Winners here


We believe there is no substitute for evaluating artwork in person, therefore the FCA ensures quality by completing the awards jury in our physical gallery space on Granville Island.


You can learn more about our artists and jurors by searching their names in our database here for AFCAs and here for SFCAs. Thank you to the jurors who extend their professional expertise and offer their time fostering arts and culture development in Canada.









 Abstracted 2019

Jury: Enda Bardell, AFCA, Joyce Kamikura, SFCA, Myrtle-Anne Rempel, SFCA


awards award award
1st Place: Lori Sokoluk - The Edge of Urban Time 2nd Place: Patricia Peacock - Earthly Delights in Iceland 3rd Place: Marianne Meyer - surrounded by everything
award award award
Honourable Mention: Eve Llyndorah - Spirit of Place #2 Honourable Mention: Pauline Jans - Days of Innocence Honourable Mention: Janice Evans - November


 Canvas Unbound 2019

Jury: Charlie Easton, SFCA, Jutta Kaiser, SFCA, Adrienne Moore, AFCA


award award Spacer
 1st Place: Cecile Lam - Lollipops and Roses  2nd Place: Meghan Sharir - Looking Down  3rd Place: Jenn Ashton - Portrait with Blue Vase
 Spacer  Spacer  Spacer
 Honourable Mention: Sheila Kernan - How To Live Life  Honourable Mention: Maggie Wilson - Ocean Refraction  Honourable Mention: Sheree Jones - The Carnivalesque (Megz & Mel)


 Artists' Choice 2019

Jury: Darlene Botkin, AFCA, Susan Cowan, SFCA, Richard McDiarmid SFCA


liao Artists Choice Test art
 1st Place: William Liao - Life and Fate #13  2nd Place: Elma Neufeld - Kimono # 4  3rd Place: Christine Camilleri - Surfside Sand
art Spacer Spacer
 Honourable Mention: Robbie Hosegood - Shipshape  Honourable Mention: Steve Hepburn - "Sunday Morning"  Honourable Mention: Bob Araki - Old water mill in New Brunswick village.


Retro Online Exhibition 2019

Jury: Mairi Budreau, AFCA, Ken Faulks, SFCA, Leslie Gregory-Morgan, SFCA



retro retro retro
1st Place: Patrick Douglass Cox - CCM 2nd Place: John Pryce - Victorian splendour 3rd Place: Kathy Hildebrandt - Take Me Out to the Ball Game
retro wylie alan retro  
Honourable Mention: Margaret Cody - Bad Date Honourable Mention: Alan Wylie - Approaching City Centre  


Works on Paper 2019

Jury: Harold Allanson, SFCA, Lee Caufield, AFCA, Martine Gourbault, SFCA, Elisabeth Sommerville, SFCA



wop wop wop
1st Place: Janice Evans - Remnants of Snow 2nd Place: Louise Nicholson - Outstretched 3rd Place: Martha Moore - Inside Passage
wop wop wop
Honourable Mention: Lorie Meyer - Berries #3 Honourable Mention: Geri Watson - Abstract in blues Honourable Mention: Susan G. Taylor - Her Eggs Were Sky Blue I

Active Members Exhibition 2019

Jury: Christine Camilleri AFCA, Janice Robertson SFCA, Alan Wylie SFCA


 heine  ascroft
1st Place: Sharon Lalonde - Love, Connection and Memories 2nd Place: Jennifer Heine - Pelicandemonium 3rd Place: Vedrana Ascroft - AUTUMN BEAUTY
leonard macdonald barbel smith
Honourable Mention: Phil Leonard - Long Beach, Tofino Honourable Mention: Jana Rayne Macdonald - Opaque Honourable Mention: Barbel Smith - Autumn Island