About the FCA


The Federation of Canadian Artists (FCA) was founded in 1941 by professional working Canadian artists including the Group of Seven luminaries, Lawren Harris, Arthur Lismer, and A.Y. Jackson. The first National Executive Council was led by Andre Bieler, and Lawren Harris was the BC region’s first Chairman. Other notable founding members included Emily Carr and the Honorable Mark Kearley. The founding members were interersted in advancing the importance of art through all regions of Canada.

As a Provincially incorporated society and Federally registered charity, the FCA is dedicated to the promotion and professional development of Canadian artists through education, exhibition and communication programs. The mission is to gradually raise the artists' standards by stimulating the participants to greater heights of achievement and  offering opportunities to advance the knowledge and appreciation of art to the Canadian public.



History of the FCA, by Ellen Poole

Sixty Years Later, by Ellen Poole